Sampling in gas storage infrastructure


Successful sampling is the basic prerequisite for all further analyses: if the sample is of inferior quality, subsequent analyses cannot be carried out. Through our work with anaerobic microorganisms, we have specialized in taking microbiological samples in a sterile, anaerobic manner and under our specific conditions. Microbify takes both liquid and gas samples from natural gas storage facilities.

Surface sampling

Using a specially designed pressure vessel, we can sample live microorganisms from aboveground infrastructure at natural gas storage facilities. The microbiological samples can be taken under the following conditions:

  • sterile (without external contamination)

  • anaerobic

  • up to 170 bar pressure

  • up to mL sample volume


Underground sampling - SOFYNOX

Microbify together with SOCON Sonar Control Kavernenvermessung GmbH has developed a method to sample liquid media from gas caverns or reservoirs without damaging the microorganisms living there. This allows a reliable and fully comprehensive microbiological analysis of gas reservoirs, which is carried out by Microbify.

Advantages of the SOFYNOX method

Microorganisms that have settled in gas reservoirs die quickly on contact with atmospheric oxygen and can be damaged by rapid decompression (pressure drop from reservoir to atmospheric pressure). If this is the case, subsequent analyses are of little value because the sample no longer reflects the situation in the reservoir. The SOFYNOX method developed by Microbify and SOCON ensures sampling free of atmospheric oxygen and with slow decompression. This is the only way to reliably collect data. In addition, Microbify has developed methods to safely sample aboveground plant components and to perform reliable microbiological analyses.

Microbiological investigations of gas caverns and reservoirs should be performed for the following problems and issues.

 

Biocorrosion

If corrosion and deposits are observed on storage facilities, it is usually biocorrosion caused by microorganisms. To avoid damage and high maintenance costs, the plant should be examined microbiologically.

Analysis of the causes of biocorrosion
Development of strategies to combat
and avoidance of biocorrosion

 

Preservation of gas quality
Microorganisms in gas storage facilities can degrade gas quality and form hydrogen sulfide, for example.
Analysis of microorganisms living in the storage facility
Assessment of the microbial hazard potential

Hydrogen storage

In the future, a large proportion of natural gas will be replaced by hydrogen. The suitability of a facility for H2 storage also depends on the microorganisms living in the storage.

Investigation for H2-consuming microorganisms
Expert opinion on the suitability of storage facilities for H2 storage
 

Underground methanation

In particular, pore storage facilities can be used to produce "green natural gas" from (green) hydrogen and CO2 in them. This can be done in parallel with storage operation and make the storage facility more economically viable.

Suitability of plants as production sites for renewable gas
Establishment of the production process for "green natural gas

SOCON_Logo_DE_hires_black.png
corrosion_pipeline_maintenance_shutterstock_2041376972.jpg
gas_pipeline_shutterstock_569009362.jpg
hydrogen_shutterstock_1912942936.jpg
20220224_Erdgasspeicher_Microbify_DE.jpg

Probenahmen an Gasspeicherinfrastruktur

Eine erfolgreiche Probenahme ist die Grundvoraussetzung für alle weiteren Analysen: ist die Probe von minderer Qualität, so sind Folgeuntersuchungen nicht durchführbar. Durch unsere Arbeit mit anaeroben Mikroorganismen haben wir uns darauf spezialisiert, mikrobiologische Proben steril, anaerob und unser besonderen Bedingungen entnehmen zu können. Microbify entnimmt sowohl Flüssig- als auch Gasproben and Erdgasspeichern.

Obertägige Probenahmen

 

Mit einem speziell entwickelten Druckbehälter können wir an obertägiger Infrastruktur an Erdgasspeichern lebende Mikroorganismen entnehmen. Die mikrobiologischen Proben können dabei unter folgenden Bedingungen entnommen werden:

  • steril (ohne äußere Kontamination)

  • anaerob

  • bis zu 170 bar Druck

  • bis zu mL Probenvolumen

Untertägige Probenahmen - SOFYNOX

Microbify hat zusammen mit SOCON Sonar Control Kavernenvermessung GmbH ein Verfahren entwickelt, um flüssige Medien aus Gaskavernen oder -lagerstätten zu entnehmen, ohne dabei die dort lebenden Mikroorganismen zu schädigen. Dies erlaubt eine zuverlässige und vollumfängliche mikrobiologische Analyse von Gaslagerstätten, die von Microbify durchgeführt wird.

Vorteile der SOFYNOX-Methode

Mikroorganismen die sich in Gaslagerstätten angesiedelt haben, sterben beim Kontakt mit Luftsauerstoff schnell ab und können bei schneller Dekompression (Druckabfall von Lagerstätten- auf Atmosphärendruck) geschädigt werden. Ist dies der Fall, so sind anschließende Analysen wenig aussagekräftig, da die Probe nicht mehr die Situation in der Lagerstätte widerspiegelt. Die von Microbify und SOCON entwickelte SOFYNOX-Methode gewährleistet eine Probenentnahme frei von Luftsauerstoff und mit langsamer Dekompression. Nur auf diese Weise können zuverlässig Daten erhoben werden. Darüber hinaus hat Microbify Verfahren entwickelt, um auch obertägige Anlagenteile sicher zu beproben und zuverlässige mikrobiologische Analysen durchzuführen.

Mikrobiologische Untersuchungen an Gaskavernen und -lagerstätten sollten bei folgenden Problemen und Fragestellungen durchgeführt werden:

Biokorrosion

Werden an Speicheranlagen Korrosion und Ablagerungen beobachtet, so handelt es sich meist um Biokorrosion, die von Mikroorganismen verursacht wird. Um Schäden und hohe Wartungskosten zu vermeiden, sollte die Anlage mikrobiologisch untersucht werden.

  • Analyse der Ursachen von Biokorrosion

  • Entwicklung von Strategien zur Bekämpfung

    und Vermeidung von Biokorrosion

Erhalt der Gasqualität

Mikroorganismen in Gasspeichern können die Gasqualität verschlechtern und z.B. Schwefelwasserstoff bilden.

  • Analyse der im Speicher lebenden Mikroorganismen

  • Beurteilung des mikrobiellen Gefahrenpotentials

Wasserstoffspeicherung

Zukünftig soll ein Großteil des Erdgases durch Wasserstoff ersetzt werden. Die Eignung einer Anlage zur H2-Speicherung hängt auch von den im Speicher lebenden Mikroorganismen ab.

  • Untersuchung auf H2-zehrende Mikroorganismen

  • Gutachten zur Eignung von Speicherstätten zur H2-Speicherung

 

Untergrundmethanisierung

Insbesondere Porenspeicher können dazu genutzt werden, um darin aus (grünem) Wasserstoff und CO2 „grünes Erdgas“ zu produzieren. Dies kann parallel zum Speicherbetrieb erfolgen und den Speicher wirtschaftlich rentabler machen.

  • Eignung von Anlagen als Produktionsstätte für regeneratives Gas

  • Etablierung des Produktionsprozesses für „grünes Erdgas“

SOCON_Logo_DE_hires_black.png
corrosion_pipeline_maintenance_shutterstock_2041376972.jpg
gas_pipeline_shutterstock_569009362.jpg
hydrogen_shutterstock_1912942936.jpg
20220224_Erdgasspeicher_Microbify_DE.jpg